Henrik Luessen

Henrik Luessen PhD

Henrik Luessen started his own business advisory firm Tytonis BV (www.tytonis.com) in 2006 after leaving his previous position as CBO of OctoPlus (www.octoplus.nl) prior to its public offering. During these seven years of his employment he commercially developed the company from a group of 12 employees with a core expertise in pharmaceutical development services of biopharmaceutical compounds to an organization of about 140 people with two own products in clinical development.

From 1996 to 1998 he was Manager Corporate Development at LTS LOHMANN Therapie Systeme GmbH. At LTS he was involved in corporate strategy and licensing being furthermore responsible for setting up the business development in Asia and Australia. Furthermore, he was involved at LTS for business development in the field of new platform technologies worldwide. During his function at Tytonis he is also acting as CBO of the cell-based drug screening company InScreenex (www.inscreenex.com) and was until 2011 interim CBO of the pulmonary delivery company Activaero GmbH (www.activaero.com).

He obtained his Ph.D. at the Leiden/Amsterdam Center of Drug Research in Pharmaceutical Technology, funded by the German National Scholarship Foundation. He is the (co-)author of more than 30 international publications and patent applications in the field of drug delivery and biopharmaceutics. He graduated as a Pharmacist at University of Hamburg and received later also the certification as a Dutch Pharmacist. He is also the Editor of the recently published books (www.ecv.de): “Starting a Business in the Life-Sciences: From idea to Market” (2002), “Pulmonary Drug Delivery” (2007), and “Protein Pharmaceuticals – Formulation Analytics and Delivery” (2010). He headed the subject group ‘Pharmaceutical Biotechnology’ at the APV (International Association of Pharmaceutical Technology, Germany) for 6 years until 2011.

Since December 2003 he is appointed as Governor of the Executive Board of the European Association of Pharmaceutical Biotechnology (EAPB). Furthermore, he is member of the CRS and AAPS.

Back to 'Our Team'